New Pledge of Allegiance (TOTALLY AWESOME)!

I recieved this in an email this morning and thought it might provke some thought.
Its American and suposed to be penned by a kid.
its very thought provoking to me,you may not agree with it and thats your choice .
Cheers Boney
Since the Pledge of Allegiance
And
The Lord’s Prayer
Are not allowed in most
Public schools anymore
Because the word ‘God’ is mentioned…..
A kid in Arizona wrote the attached

NEW School prayer:

Now I sit me down in school
Where praying is against the rule
For this great nation under God
Finds mention of Him very odd.

If scripture now the class recites,
It violates the Bill of Rights.
And anytime my head I bow
Becomes a Federal matter now.

Our hair can be purple, orange or green,
That’s no offense; it’s a freedom scene..
The law is specific, the law is precise.
Prayers spoken aloud are a serious vice.

For praying in a public hall
Might offend someone with no faith at all..
In silence alone we must meditate,
God’s name is prohibited by the state.

We’re allowed to cuss and dress like freaks,
And pierce our noses, tongues and cheeks…
They’ve outlawed guns, but FIRST the Bible.
To quote the Good Book makes me liable.
We can elect a pregnant Senior Queen,
And the ‘unwed daddy,’ our Senior King.
It’s ‘inappropriate’ to teach right from wrong,
We’re taught that such ‘judgments’ do not belong..

We can get our condoms and birth controls,
Study witchcraft, vampires and totem poles..
But the Ten Commandments are not allowed,
No word of God must reach this crowd.

It’s scary here I must confess,
When chaos reigns the school’s a mess.
So, Lord, this silent plea I make:
Should I be shot; My soul please take!
Amen

4 thoughts on “New Pledge of Allegiance (TOTALLY AWESOME)!

  1. So true bro, and yet they will blame God when all goes wrong. I read in the States just the other day “God why don’t you do something about the bullying in my school?” “because they won’t let me in there”
    It may sound real funny but it ain’t and we will reap the harvest of our inability to make a stand for what is right.

  2. Seriously? I appreciate your religion is dear to you and there’s nothing wrong with that, but it seems counter-productive to post something needlessly inflammatory on a site whose goal it is to get your name out there.

    It’s completely ridiculous to make the hyperbolic claims like

    “For praying in a public hall
    Might offend someone with no faith at all..”

    from the reality of not forcing people who don’t share your faith to pray to your god. It’s understandable for a child to see it that way, but intellectually dishonest for an adult to support it.

    And it’s hardly baseless that atheists might be uncomfortable with prayer (though I don’t think anybody should be *disallowed* from praying in their own time) given how much political control Christian groups exert in western countries, particularly the US.

    People of any religion outside of Christianity face routine harassment and discrimination in the US, UK, Australia and NZ, so it’s pretty hard to swallow complaints about

    [We can] Study witchcraft, vampires and totem poles..
    But the Ten Commandments are not allowed,

    when the reality is that Pagans and Wiccans are very frequently *not* allowed to practice their religion on school grounds, while bible classes are still practised.

    And believe you me, atheists have a right to be offended at the constant iteration that one requires religion to teach and have ethics.

    This is of course your domain and you are more than entitled to post what you like. But I would have thought you were open-minded enough to see this as the incendiary, inaccurate, judgemental self-congratulations it is.

    • I see what your driving at but I don’t agree.
      Its intended to be to incendiary but not self congratulatory.
      I didn’t write it, although I agree with it in principle and surely do not apologize on its behalf.But also I respect your views and interpretation and you are certainly entitled to them. Cheers for your input Dana.

Leave a Reply

